Beginning January 1, 2021, the Building Department is implementing the new Rental Registration Program, as established by City Ordinance 2018-18, passed on December 18, 2019. Details of the new Program and the forms are provided below.

Annual Registration Requirement

Beginning January 1, 2021, property owners and agents in charge are required to register all rental units annually. The link to the Rental Registration Application is provided below. Property owners* and agents in charge** with more than one property shall pay one filing fee and complete one Rental Registration Application, listing all the properties they own/are in charge of on the application.

*In order for a property owner to use one application for multiple properties, the properties must all reflect the same owner of record on Cuyahoga County’s MyPlace System.

**Agents in charge must be residents of Cuyahoga County, Ohio and must be designated when the property owner does not reside in Cuyahoga County, Ohio.

Complete Rental Registration Applications must be filed with the Building Department between January 1 and March 31 each year. Applications will not be considered complete until all the required information and documentation is submitted with an application. The non-refundable fee for Registration is $75.00 per application per year. Failure to register by March 31 of each year may result in a late fee up to triple ($225.00) the amount of the rental registration fee.

If a property is no longer a rental unit (owner-occupied), vacant at the time of registration but will be rented, or if the property has been transferred, the Removal from Rental Registration Affidavit must be completed and submitted in lieu of a Rental Registration Application.

If, during the calendar year, the property owner or agent in charge acquires additional rental units, the property owner or agent in charge shall file an updated Rental Registration Application with the Building Department for a non-refundable fee of $35.00.

Rental Registrations are not assignable or transferrable.

Inspection Requirement

Following the completion of the Annual Rental Registration, if there is a change in the tenant(s) of a rental unit, then the property owner or agent in charge must file an updated Rental Registration Application with $35.00 fee, and file for a Rental Inspection and Tenant Rental License. The fee for the Rental Inspection and Tenant Rental License is $150.00 ($185.00 total with the Rental Registration update). After filing the Tenant Rental License and paying the fee, a general inspection of the rental unit, which cost is included in the fee, must be performed. The purpose of the inspection is to insure each rental unit is safe, healthy and habitable and in compliance with the City, Cuyahoga County and Ohio health, safety, building and maintenance laws, rules and regulations.

Violations found during the inspection must be corrected within 60 days of the initial inspection, prior to the issuance of a Tenant Rental License, and before tenants occupy the rental unit.

Tenant Rental Licenses are not assignable or transferrable.