The City’s Charter is the foundational document for all of the Administration and City Council’s work, providing the structure of the government, the powers granted to the government, and the work the residents charge the government with undertaking.

Pursuant to Article XX, Section 2 of the City’s Charter, the Charter Review Commission meets every five years to review the charter and make recommendations to City Council for changes to the Charter.  In January of a given year, the Mayor appoints 2 members, City Council appoints 1 member from each of their Districts, and the Council President appoints 2 alternate members. The Commission’s work is completed within 6 months of appointment, recommending changes to the Charter it determines necessary. Those changes are reviewed by City Council, and City Council submits the changes to the City’s electors for their vote.


Katurah Johnson
Rikki Brown
Michele Rudolph
Almeida Dye
Lakiesha Nevels
Alternates: Jackie Albers, Lois Poole

Daphne Coleman
Linda Mitchell
Angela Oglesby
Herb Wilborn